Programs & Policies
Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go customers:
We're upgrading our systems to serve you better and, as a result, some of our Important Service/Product Terms and General Terms & Conditions of Service (the Terms) are being updated. We encourage you to review the Terms before updates take effect (December 2012 through early 2013).
Not to worry, you will receive an email message once the update is complete alerting you that the new Terms are in effect. In the meantime, we wanted to highlight a few of these important updates and remind you of a few that we already had in place - since you're probably wondering what this means to you:
- Speed Reduction for Unlimited 4G Plans:
- Once the system is updated, we will begin throughput speed reduction for the Unlimited 4G plans. To ensure all customers have reliable access to data services, we will begin implementation of throughput speed reduction, once the established threshold is reached. This will apply only to plans that include Unlimited 4G data. Speed reduction for Unlimited 3G plans will continue.
- To help ensure you're aware of your throughput limiting status, we'll send you an email message when 85% of the data threshold has been used, and again when you've reached 100% of your data threshold and speeds will be reduced.
- Data Usage Reporting:
- There will no longer be a delay in data usage reporting, so the usage information displayed on the My Account page will be near real-time. If you are on an unlimited plan and subject to throughput limiting, your speeds will be reduced immediately upon reaching your data threshold - even if it's during your current session.
- An enhancement associated with the system update is the ability to use your account balance to pay for your automatic renewing plan. Once the system is updated, if you wish to have your Broadband2Go Plan renew automatically, your available account balance (if any) will be used first, before your registered credit or debit card is charged.
- When you select a plan for auto renewal, the plan fee will be automatically deducted at the end of each cycle. The initial attempt will be to collect the fee from your account balance. If your account balance is not sufficient to cover the payment, it will be charged to your registered credit/debit card.
- The settings for registering your credit/debit card will change with the system update. You will no longer see the following options...
- "Register my card and use it to buy my Broadband2Go plan each month"
- "Register my card but use it only when I tell you to"
- "I don't want to register my card now"
- Instead, registering your credit/debit card, only means that you are registering your card to keep on file. Your registered card will only be charged if you elect to have your plan renew automatically.
- The process for selecting a Broadband2Go Plan for automatic renewal will change with the system update. Instead of managing automatic plan renewal by changing your registered credit card/debit card settings, you will see two options for each Broadband2Go Plan available for auto-renewal - (a) a one-time only payment option and (b) an automatic renewal payment option. Simply select the version that's right for you at the time.
- Remember, the plan data allotments are the same for both options, you are simply choosing whether you'd like to pay for that particular plan manually each time or if you'd like to have the plan paid automatically each time with your account balance or registered credit/debit card.
- When changing from a 1 Month Only (non-auto-renewing plan) to an Auto-Renewal plan (or vice versa), you will simply select the other version of the plan. Be careful to make the change on the last day of your plan cycle, as making the change before the end of your cycle will result in the loss of any unused data. In addition, your plan start date will change to the day on which you make the switch.
- If you are changing from an Auto-Renewal plan and wish to Stop Automatic Payments (basically putting your account on hold at the end of your cycle), simply select the provided box and your plan will not renew automatically at the end of your cycle. Instead, the cycle will end and you will need to manually purchase another Broadband2Go Plan when you're ready to use the service again.
- The Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Bonus Program is being expired and will no longer be available or offered after December 31, 2012. Current Broadband2Go customers who signed up to automatically pay for their Broadband2Go service with a registered credit/debit card will still receive 10% of their monthly charge back as a bonus for up to 6 months, or up until December 31, 2012, whichever time period comes first.